The picture within the picture

“Patience is the key to relief ” that’s the translation of the words written up behind the beautiful girl in the picture.
This is a very famous Egyptian idiom , patience is a virtue , we can be as patient and persistent as Tim Robbins in shawshank redemption.
Some people’s journey in this life can be as hard as the prison wall that Tim Robbins carved his way through for 15 years until he made it outside the prison walls.
A colleague once told me that she feels like Tim digging her way out the prison wall.
What kind of prison she were living in?
It’s hard life ,difficulties , the hardships of our training ,lack of resources and independence, this is prison and there are so many people digging their way out of it. But one have to get out in the right time otherwise be like Morgan freeman who gets free and doesn’t know what to do with his freedom.
Every corner radiates this ancient sensation, I guess the warm weather plays a role in keeping and preserving the original vibes .It holds on to vibes that were released by its original owners , the events that were taking place, even chaos and neglect can not obscure these vibes on the contrary it gives it a rush a crazy rush just by standing there as a contrast .it gives you the pleasure of digging up diamonds and gold nuggets in dangerous messy mines.
One can spot an Antique shop every now and then and my mum can tell which Antiques are genuine and which are not. She can just look up the piece and then for some reason decide to defy the seller and tell him cheekily :”nice piece of art , c ait été imitation” , she is Franco phone ,she speaks french very well , because in the past upper middle classes used to send their children to french schools like the mère de dieu , frère and jésuite and in these French schools usually it was the nuns who teached.
I love antiques and everything that is old ,probably because I spent so much time in the family villa when I was a kid , and when I speak of family I mean the roots I mean my mum’s grand father the woman he married and his eight kids and his grand kids and when I say his villa I mean an old Victorian house with a big Garden surrounding it with olive trees and other oriental exotic trees I don’t even know their names in English.the whole neighbourhood was made up of similar houses, but every thing has changed now every thing has gone.
Yes gone ,I did ask how far would anyone go In order to preserve his identity , I don’t know the family house is gone and I think the only person this place has ever evoked feeling in, was me , the high Victorian ceilings , the summer night chats of my mum’s aunts in the veranda and me dozing off while listening to their voices talking about people I can hardly imagine my connection to them. In the background was the cool refreshing summer breeze the enchanting voice of the curlew which I never heard it’s voice except in in Egypt ,the night breeze hustling around the leaves.
This was about the warm feeling this place has evoked in me at that time when I was a wild child . As for the physical pain there were the mosquito bites and snoring of aunties.
So while strolling in the streets of Alexandria a city very dear to my heart there are antique shops every where and my mum has a taste for art she lived in France for years but she has a genuine taste of art. She stopped at this shop in nabi Daniel street (prophet Daniel) named after one of the Jewish prophets and looked at paintings of these beautiful women one of whom had a PICTURE WITH IN A PICTURE with the word PATIENCE written up in it.
The painting is for sale
And the seller’s phone is wale and his phone is
+22/01227113767
+22/01017328866
+22/01275698877
+22/034861188
Email : art.c2008_2009@yahoo.com

20140504-021629.jpg

20140504-021619.jpg

20140504-021607.jpg

20140504-022230.jpg

2 thoughts on “The picture within the picture

  1. These are some beautiful paintings, and I agree patience is indeed a virtue. The Shawshank Redemption tops my list of favorite movies. We may not be in a prison but we have to find a way out of the imaginary prison that we have created for ourselves. Thanks for this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

